Predictable Randomness

Forum

Forum Home > Nuzlocke Runs > The Past is Dead.

Xelakian

The Pokeball is a wondrous device. Capable of scanning, housing and teleporting mons, it is mind-boggling that such an advanced technology would be sold for a mere P200. Silph Co and Devon Corp have virtually no competition, what with Apricorns being native to Johto alone, and as such they could easily charge ten times that. Decades ago, I asked why they hadn't.

My answer came to me shortly after I started training. I had stolen a Squirtle from the Pallet Town Trainer School, gotten lost within the building and encountered a student there named Arthur. A newly graduated student with a newly given mon, he gave me an ultimatum. We would battle. If I won, he would show me a secret way out of the complex. If he won, he'd turn me in to the Jennies. Because I was not a student there, nor was the Squirtle registered in my name, I had only one option. Through a sheer act of luck, I managed to defeat him. He kept his end of the deal, leading me out to Route 1, my only option to go to Viridian City.

After hours of walking, I made it. Squirtle had defended me valiantly against Pidgeys and Rattatas, barely able to walk on its own. I had to get it to a Center. I barged in and demanded the Nurse heal him. She requested to see my ID, and immediately called for the Jennies upon reading it. I had not been chosen at eight, trained at nine and given my first mon at ten. I was not a graduate of any Trainer School. I was twelve, with no other way to get a mon to start my journey because the laws had changed. As the Jennies approached, I ran. They gave chase. Squirtle squirmed out of my arms and held my pursuers back with Water Gun as I escaped. I looked back in time to see an Electabuzz send more than enough amps to finish him off.